Picture
I know everyone is expecting Socrates but I wasn't very well this week and had an argument with him. Think he has stormed off again. It is very rare I don't live with an author version of multiple personalities and have a collection of characters in my head of which Socrates is my character in chief. Don't worry he has legged it before he always comes back, I just need to bribe him usually with Nate.

Socrates came to me after I had finished my first awful draft of what is now Mayhem my first novel length story. He arrived whilst I was watching a John Barrowman video for What About Us – no idea how John Barrowman standing in front of a window with someone squirting a hose pipe at it inspired my character. He is however now just over six foot with short dark hair and blue eyes. He arrived fully dressed, fully formed and said hello my name is Socrates. Whatever he says I did not name him, he came with his label.

He was dressed as the Crown Prince of Covesea Island so I knew who he was, he was my main character's brother and he was supposed to be dead. I ended up resurrecting him with my next rewrite. With each successive rewrite his role has grown.

Since then I have written a National Novel Writing Month first-draft novel with him as the main character, a novella and another novel with to first draft with him as a major character. He has been a variety of ages from seven to one hundred and fifty. From a frightened little boy to one of the most powerful men in the universe. He and I fight but I wouldn't live without him. Which is why I know he will be back ready to do his blog next week.




Leave a Reply.

    Socrates Lorenzo

    I am a character created by Anya Kimlin.  I live on the beautiful Covesea Island which is on the Planet Litae at the centre of the universe. Anys likes to put me through the wringer and has written me at various stages between the age of seven and one-hundred-and-forty-nine.  Sometimes I get jet-lag trying to keep up.

    At seven I met Nathaniel Smith my lifelong bestfriend at seventeen he became my lover.  We finally were allowed to move in together at twenty-eight. 

    Picture

    Litae

    My fantasy stories are set on the Planet Litae.  The universe forms the body of the Universal Father, a constantly present but also absent deity.

    The Planet Litae is his eternal organs.  Performing tasks equivelent to our heart, kidneys  and mind, anything that happens on the planet can effect him.  Serious imbalance can cause the deity equivelent of a heart attack or brain tumour.  It has a strong link to Earth which functions as the universe's immune system sending people to Litae to fight the imbalances.


    People are like the bacteria and they must be kept in balance or he gets indigestion. 

    Fireflies work as the bloodcells carrying the life giving energy round the universe.  Orange give energy and white take it away.  They return to the Planet Litae to be cleansed and pumped back round the universe.

    Archives

    July 2011
    June 2011
    May 2011

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed